Seiji Okamoto Profile

in English

A Berlin-based Japanese violinist Seiji Okamoto was born in 1994, began to play the violin at the age of three.

In 2014, Seiji won 1st prize and audience award at 19th International J. S. Bach Competition in Leipzig (Germany), became the first Asian winner of the event (violin category).

In 2016, won 2nd prize at 15th International Wieniawski Violin Competition in Poznan(Poland).

In 2016, he also won 6th prize at 6th Sendai International Music Competition(Japan).

In 2019, became a Laureate of the Queen Elisabeth International Music Competition in Brussels.

He had many opportunities to play in concerts with orchestras, as well as recitals and chamber music, not only in Japan but also in Germany, Poland, Austria, Belgium, Italy, Croatia, Russia and United States.

As a soloist, he has performed various concertos with great orchestras such as MDR-Sinfonieorchester Leipzig (Germany), St. Petersburg State Academic Symphony Orchestra (Russia), Belgian National Orchestra, Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie (Belgium), NFM Filharmonia Wroclawska, Opole Symphony Orchestra, Lodz Philharmonic Orchestra, Plock Symphony Orchestra (Poland), Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, New Japan Philharmonic, Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra, Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa (Japan) and so on.

Also he has invited to performing in famous music festivals such as Bachfest Leipzig (2015), La folle journee au Japon (2015, 2017), Musica Mundi Festival in Brussels (2017), Wieniawski Festival in Sczawno-Zdroj(Poland) (2018), Kronberg Academy Festival (Germany) (2019).

He graduated Tokyo University of the Arts (Tokyo Geidai), he has studied with K. Nakazawa, G. Poulet, K. Sawa, also belonged to the classes of P.Amoyal and H.Zack at the university, and taken masterclasses with many wonderful musicians not only violinists but also conductors, pianists, violists and cellists.

From 2017, he moved his main base of activities to Germany and started studying with Prof. Antje Weithaas at Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” Berlin.

Currently, Seiji is studying at Kronberg Academy as a Professional Studies student with Prof. Antje Weithaas. (These studies are funded by the Gingko Goundation.)


Seiji Okamoto (Violin) – Concerto Repertoires (July. 2023)

-works for violin and orchestra


J.S.Bach: Concerto No.1 in a minor BWV1041
J.S.Bach: Concerto No.2 in E major BWV1042
J.S.Bach: Concerto for 2 violins in d minor (Double Concerto) BWV1043
Brahms: Concerto in D major Op.77
Mendelssohn: Concerto in d minor
Mendelssohn: Concerto in e minor Op.64
Mozart: Concerto No.1 in B-flat major KV207
Mozart: Concerto No.5 in A major KV219
Mozart: Adagio in E major KV261
Mozart: Rondo in C major KV373
R.Schumann: Concerto in d minor WoO 23
Sibelius: Concerto in d minor Op.47
Vivaldi: The Four Seasons
Vivaldi: Concerto for 4 violins in b minor
J.S.Bach: Concerto in d minor BWV1052R (reconstructed from Concerto for Harpsichord and Strings in d minor)
Bartok: Concerto No.1 (posthume)
Bartok: Concerto No.2 Sz.112
Bartok: Rhapsodie No.1 in G
Beethoven: Concerto in D major Op.61
Beethoven: Romance No.2 in F major Op.50
Berg: Concerto (“To the memory of an angel”)
Brahms: Concerto for violin and cello (double concerto) in a minor Op.102
Bruch: Concerto No.1 in g minor Op.26
Bruch: Scottish Fantasy Op.46
Chausson: “Poeme” Op.25
Haydn: Concerto No.1 in C major
Hartmann: Concerto funebre
Hindemith: Concerto (1939)
Mozart: Concerto No.3 in G major KV216
Mozart: Concerto No.4 in D major KV218
Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante for violin and viola in E-flat major KV364
Prokofiev: Concerto No.2 in g minor Op.63
Ravel: Tzigane
Saint=Saens: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso Op.28
R.Schumann: Phantasie Op.131
Tchaikovsky: Concerto in D major Op.35
Tchaikovsky: Valse-Scherzo Op.34 (original version)
Wieniawski: Polonaise de Concert (Polonaise brillante No.1 in D major Op.4
Wieniawski: Legende in g minor Op.17
Barber: Concerto Op.14
Dvorak: Concerto in a minor Op.53
Elgar: Concerto in b minor Op.61
Glière: Concerto (Concerto Allegro) in g minor Op.100 (1956)
K.Hakola: “Fidl” Op.99 (2019)
Khachaturian: Concerto in d minor Op.46
Korngold: Concerto in D major Op.35
Paganini: Concerto No.4 in d minor
Saint=Saëns: Concerto No.3 in b minor Op.61
Shostakovich: Concerto No.1 in a minor Op.77 (Op.99)
Stravinsky: Concerto (1931)
Wieniawski: Concerto No.2 in d minor Op.22
Britten: Concerto (1939)
Bruch: Serenade in A minor Op.75
Glazunov: Concerto in a minor Op.82
Ligeti: Concerto (1992)
Nielsen: Concerto Op.33
Prokofiev: Concerto No.1 in D major Op.19
Schönberg: Concerto (1936)
Shostakovich: Concerto No.2 in c-sharp minor Op.129
Szymanowski: Concerto No.1 Op.35
Walton: Concerto (1939)
Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending